LBS economist recognised for contribution to field

Professor Hélène Rey named joint winner of Grand Prix de l'Economie 2017

201801  Helene Rey and JeanDominique Senard  Grand Prix Les Echos 2017  Credit Bruno LevyHélène Rey and Jean-Dominique Sénard are joint winners of the Grand Prix de l'Economie 2017 prize. 

Leading international economist Hélène Rey, Lord Raj Bagri Professor of Economics at London Business School, has been awarded the Grand Prix de l'Economie 2017 prize.

The prestigious award is given to the person who has contributed the most to the field of economics over the year.

Professor Rey was presented with the prize by former AXA CEO and Grand Prix de l’Economie 2017 Jury President Henri de Castries, and Nicolas Barré, editorial director of the French newspaper Les Echos (France), at a ceremony in Paris on December 14.

Professor Rey shares the 2017 award with Michelin CEO Jean-Dominique Sénard.

“To have won this award with someone of Mr Sénard’s standing demonstrates the important role both business and academia play in shaping the field of economics,” Professor Rey said.

“I’d like to thank the jury for their acknowledgement of my work. To receive an award of this calibre in my home country is truly a special experience.”

Previous winners of the Grand Prix de l'Economie prize include Nobel Prize laureate Jean Tirole, current German Bundestag President Wolfgang Schäuble and Renault-Nissan Alliance CEO Carlos Ghosn.

The Grand Prix de l'Economie 2017 jury included Google executive Carlo d'Asaro Biondo and Frédéric Mazzella, CEO of BlaBlaCar.

Professor Rey is Lord Bagri Professor of Economics at London Business School, having previously held the position of Professor Economics and International Affairs at Princeton University. She has been awarded many prizes including the Bernácer Prize, the Birgit Grodal Award, the Yrjö Jahnsson Prize, and the Prix Maurice Allais. She is the recipient of several European Research Council grants. She has received an honorary Order of the British Empire and is a Fellow of the British Academy and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.