LBS logo London experience. World impact.

The Dean

Welcome to London Business School

“London Business School is a world class global business school that combines academic excellence, London spirit and a global mindset. We bring together outstanding faculty and students, recognised around the world for their expertise and impact. Our faculty participate in policy discussions and engage with a wide diversity of business leaders, from the heads of global corporations to entrepreneurs in Africa. And our students bring unparalleled breadth of background and experience to our campus. Of course, no school can bring together outstanding faculty and students without outstanding staff. Their professionalism and dedication to the School community sets us apart.

We are a global school based in the world’s most global city. We draw strength from the diversity of our community and our shared ambition for the future.

I look forward to welcoming you to the School.”

François Ortalo-Magné



The Role of the Dean


The Dean is the Head of the School and its Chief Executive Officer and is responsible to the Governing Body.

The Dean guides the direction of the School and shapes its values and standards. He balances current priorities with future investment and helps the School’s major constituents to achieve their objectives. He fosters innovative partnerships that reach unprecedented outcomes and inspires individuals to exceed their expectations.


The Dean fulfils a number of representational and organisational roles, including contact with key stakeholders such as the Governing Body, faculty, staff, students, customers, alumni, and friends, as well as with partner institutions within the University of London, higher education and more broadly.


About the Dean


François joins LBS from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Business School where he was Dean from 2011-2017. During his tenure there, he advanced a bold strategy to increase the impact of faculty research, enhance student learning, and transform business education. Under his leadership, new approaches to faculty hiring and engagement, innovations in curriculum design and delivery, progress in matters of inclusion and diversity, and the launch of a new brand platform elevated the school to new partnerships with leaders in business and higher education.


François received a Masters in Agricultural Engineering and Management from the Ecole Supérieure d’Agriculture de Purpan in Toulouse and a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Minnesota. Following the award of his doctorate he became a Lecturer at the London School of Economics, where he gained tenure in 2000. In 2001 he moved to Wisconsin School of Business where he served as a Professor of Real Estate and chaired the school’s Department of Real Estate and Urban Economics prior to his appointment as Dean of the School. His research on the economics of housing and land markets has been published in leading academic journals and reported in various industry and media outlets.


François has advised the French government on land use and housing policy issues as a member of the Conseil Economique du Dévelopement Durable. He has been a regular keynote speaker at international real estate conferences, including MIPIM and AFIRE, and was awarded the distinctions of Counselor of Real Estate (USA) and Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (UK).




Deans of London Business School


  • Dr Arthur Earle (1965-1972)
  • Professor Sir James Ball (1972-1984)
  • Professor Peter Moore (1984-1989)
  • Professor Sir George Bain (1989-1997)
  • Professor John Quelch (1998-2001)
  • Professor Laura Tyson (2002-2006)
  • Robin Buchanan (2007-2008)
  • Professor Sir Andrew Likierman (2009-2017)
  • François Ortalo-Magné (current)