LBS logo London experience. World impact.

The Real Innovation Awards

Nominations are now open for the Real Innovation Awards 2017. There are six categories, named to reflect the ways in which we think innovative products and services really come into being, driven by inspired individuals, teams and organisations.

The entry deadline is 31 May 2017.

About the awards

In 2016 we teamed up with our friends at Management Today to create the Real Innovation Awards. They were designed to highlight and celebrate the real, messy business of innovation – a process that’s a world away from what most people imagine it to be.

The Real Innovation Awards sprang out of two fundamental convictions

Firstly, innovation is the wellspring of change. Without a constant supply of clever, creative and fresh ways of doing things, the engine of economic progress would grind to a halt.

Secondly, other awards for innovation tend to describe a simplified, sanitised and inaccurate view of the process. Yes, whizzy new products and visionary leadership are important, but they aren’t the whole story: real innovation is messy, uncertain and serendipitous. And so the Real Innovation Awards was born – an award scheme designed to showcase the authentic, haphazard and exciting business of real innovation and to identify and celebrate those people and organisations who exemplify the way it really works.

Selection process

A shortlist of up to five entries is selected for each category. The shortlist is announced online in September when the judges meet to decide on the final winners and the public vote for the People’s Choice goes live.

Please see the full Terms and Conditions for further eligibility criteria and details of the process.

There are two selection processes running in parallel:

  • Judges’ choice: A panel of expert judges picks the category winners from the shortlisted entries.

  • People’s choice: The public is invited to vote for their favourite nominee using an online voting platform.

Find out more about the judging


What's in it for the winners?

In a word – recognition. Winners will be feted by Management Today and LBS, with an exclusive awards presentation ceremony to be held at London Business School in November and a special feature in Management Today publication that has 150,000 business readers – plus appearances in LBS’s own journal the London Business School Review and website. Not only that, MT will promote both winners and shortlisted entries online via stories on their must-read website, daily news bulletin and extensive social media feeds. See last year's highlights of the event and related publications.

What do the winners say about the awards?