Meet the AQR Asset Management Institute team


Academic Directors

Anna Pavlova

Anna Pavlova

is Professor of Finance at London Business School.

Richard Portes

Richard Portes CBE FBA

is Professor of Economics at London Business School.

Stephen Schaefer

Stephen Schaefer 


Stephen is Professor of Finance at London Business School.

Non-Executive Chairman

Stan Beckers

Stan Beckers

Stan is Executive Fellow of Finance at London Business School.

Executive Director

Vijaya Govindan

Pre-Doctoral Researchers

  • Francesco Amodeo
  • Matthieu Tarbé
  • Sai Zhang

Advisory Council

The Institute benefits from the input and collective wisdom of its distinguished Advisory Council members, who help guide and support the Institute’s development. 

View the list of members and read their biographies.

  • Key contacts


    • Richard Bland, Head of Finance Careers, Career Centre
    • Lisa Bohner, Programme Director, Masters in Financial Analysis
    • Kate Forman, Programme Director, Masters in Finance
    • Tim Mann, Asset Management Lead, Career Centre


    • Sanjay Surana, President 2018-19, Investment Management Club
    • Frank Fan (MBA 2020) and Swathi Seshadri (MBA 2020), Co-Presidents 2019-20, Investment Management Club

LBS Finance Faculty Welcomes New Executive Fellows

21 Nov 2017

Three senior business executives are welcomed as Executive Fellows into London Business School’s Finance Faculty.

Read now

LBS economist wins distinguished economic science prize

30 May 2017

Hélène Rey awarded 2017 Maurice Allais Economic Science Prize.

Read now

LBS economist appointed Vice-Chair of ESRB Advisory Committee

06 Jan 2016

Professor Portes is Vice-Chair of the Advisory Scientific Committee.

Read now

London Business School emeritus professor honoured by CFA UK

14 Sep 2015

Paul Marsh awarded Fellow status.

Read now